Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
JACKSON Mahalia
13 juin 2010

DISC : I bow on my knees - City called heaven [1951] 2t

Single (78T) de Mahalia JACKSON

accompagnée de Midred FALLS (piano) & Blind FRANCIS (orgue)

«I BOW ON MY KNEES - CITY CALLED HEAVEN» :

  [photo]   (17/07/1951  _Apollo [250 / C-2454 & 2455] / 78T - 2t)

I bow on my knees  (:)
City called heaven  (:)

.Ligne_Fl_ches_vertes__Anim  COMMENTAIRES Ligne_Fl_ches_vertes__Anim.

   Another stellar Apollo recording by the once and future queen of gospel music, Mahalia Jackson. "I Bow on my Knees" was coupled with another great track, "City Called Heaven" (see WEEK #18) and sold as Apollo 250. This 78-rpm disc was my introduction to Mahalia and remains my favorite of all her singles.
   Backed by Mildred Falls on piano, Blind Francis on organ, and an unnamed choir, Mahalia pours every ounce of emotion into "I Bow on my Knees." Building in intensity and abandon throughout the recording, Mahalia is clearly lost in the power of the song, contributing her trademark on-pitch shouts and moans near the conclusion. One can almost envision her: eyes tightly closed, face contorted, body writhing as she wrecks the church, congregant by congregant.
   The November 1951 recording session at which Mahalia recorded "I Bow on my Knees" also produced the aforementioned "City Called Heaven," as well as other Apollo classics, "How I Got Over," "His Eye is on the Sparrow," and "It is No Secret." This session may well rank as one of Mahalia’s most inspired, producing some of the greatest gospel music to be etched onto shellac.
   One more note: on the "unnamed choir," could it have included Lowman Pauling and the Royal Sons Quintet [aka The Five Royales]? After all, the Royal Sons’ first coupling for Apollo was comprised of matrixes C2458 and C2459, which come sequentially after the matrices assigned to Mahalia’s November ’51 session, C2451-C2457, with "Bow.." assigned C2454. An aural comparison between the choir on "Bow" and the Royal Sons’ "Bedside of a Neighbor" would help in solving the mystery.    ~ Bob Marovich

x

Créé le 13 juin 2010 (18:18)

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité